Registering a Course for CPD?

  1. Register your company
  2. Send us your advertisement PLUS the program.
  3. We will send you a quote
  4. If you accept the quote, send us all the material that will be presented at the event
  5. After the assessment, you will be sent an invoice with the CPD number.
  6. You need to add this number to your Attendance Certificate. We recommend that you add it to the bottom sight-hand corner of your certificate.
  7. After your payment is received, SAIMC will forward the documentation to ECSA to upload to their website.
  8. Attendees then log their points on the ECSA website. (They should have received an e-mail from ECSA giving them their registration details for the ECSA portal when they registered with ECSA).
  9. They will be required to upload their certificate when they apply for their points.
  10. So that you may be aware what we are looking for during the Assessment, please see the evaluation criteria that will be used: CPD Evaluation Criteria

Purpose of CPD

In order to do Engineering Work, it is a legal requirement that a person is registered with the Engineering Council of South Africa as a Professional Engineer, a Professional Engineering Technologist or a Professional Engineering Technician – see the Engineering Professions Act 46 of 2000. By not being registered, the individual stands the risk of having to pay a fine equal to double his / her salary while doing that work.

In order to register and remain registered, it is compulsory for professionals to obtain CPD points. 


CPD is defined as the “systematic maintenance, improving and broadening of knowledge and skills, and the development of personal qualities necessary for the execution of professional and technical duties throughout an engineer’s career” – Electricity and Control April 2007

“This is not a system designed by administrators. It was created by a team of engineers for engineers” – Johan Pienaar, the manager of registration at ECSA


Because the law requires people doing engineering work to do so

Because that is the way that your qualification is accepted internationally via three accords:

  • Washington Accord – Engineers
  • Sydney Accord – Technologists
  • Dublin Accord – Technicians